Requesting Nominations for Campaign Awards

April 3, 2018

United Way of Monroe County is requesting nominations for awards for individuals and businesses that have excelled in their efforts to benefit the United Way annual campaign.

To nominate an individual or business, simply provide United Way of Monroe Count ywith your name (as the nominator) and the name of the nominee, as well as a short description (1-2 paragraphs) about why you are nominating the individual or business.

The DEADLINE for nominations is TUESDAY, APRIL 10TH, 2018.

Send your nominations to Monica Cravotta by fax (570-629-5680) or e-mail  

To download a printable PDF, click here: 2017 Campaign Award Nomination Form

Awards for which nominations are sought:

Clifford R. Gillam Award

Recognizing an individual who, by the vote of his or her peers, represents the spirit of outstanding volunteerism to the United Way of Monroe County.  The award is presented annually in memory of Clifford R. Gillam, “Mr. Buck Hill,” a founder/ longtime leader in the organization. Last year’s recipient: Cristina Matos

Spirit of Caring Award

Recognizing an individual, organization or business that shows extraordinary dedication to Live United by Giving, Advocating and Volunteering. This award was first presented in 2010. Last year’s recipient:  John Casella

Evelyn Frederick Community Service Award

Recognizing those individuals, groups, or corporations that have shown outstanding leadership and commitment to the United Way of Monroe County’s mission, above and beyond the annual campaign.  The award is named in honor of Evelyn Frederick, a community leader and employee of the United Way of Monroe County for 47 years, who passed away in 2009. Last year’s recipient: Pat Sayler

Awards will be presented at United Way’s annual Campaign Appreciation Event: Leading Together, Uniting Monroe on Wednesday, April 25, 5:30pm – 7pm at Desaki.

Click here to learn more about this free event or to RSVP.